Plant It and It Will Grow (hopefully)

March 20

So I woke up this morning and while the wind had settled down to a mild 30mph gust, I ventured outside to check my garden. I’m trying to be diligent about watering since mom’s told me that’s sort of an integral part of any landscape project. I was so surprised and excited to see little green ‘heads’ poking up through the dirt that I had to run and grab my family to show them that I might actually be related to my mother and be able to GROW something!!

Radishes are coming up.

Since I’m experimenting with square foot gardening, I’ve used a broadcast method when seeding, as these little guys get a little bigger, I’ll thin them back out into a more uniform layout so that I can maximize their growth.

 Carrots found their way to the surface despite being buried a bit too deep when planted.

Let this be a lesson for you. When you’re dealing with those tinsy, tiny, bittsy seeds, they just barely need to be covered in soil. While I planted my carrots at the right time, I sowed them too deeply and now many of them haven’t survived. I have since re-sown a few new heirloom varieties at the proper depth.

I had mentioned I need instant vegetable gratification earlier, well, now that I was so impatient, my seedlings of spinach and lettuce are finding their way to the surface now. At first I was sort of bummed at myself not being able to wait, but then realized I had inadvertant practiced ‘succession planting’. Planting the seeds, or in my case, transplants at different stages and a few weeks apart will give me a longer harvest period for my leafy veggies before they bolt out when the Oklahoma weather gets too hot.

 In the middle you can see my small little potato peeking up.

Planting my potatoes has been another experiment in planting too deep. My Papaw was a firm believer in the Farmers Almanac so I consulted it prior to planting my potatoes back in February. I planted 4 small red seed potatoes on Feb. 23, now then, according the F.A. it said that was the best day to plant root vegetables. Typically it takes about 1-2 weeks for potatoes to germinate (meaning when I could see progress), but because I perhaps planted at too great a depth, 8″ deep, it has taken about a month for me to see my first little leaf. I’m hoping in the next few days I see the others poking out.

About Wendy M. DeIorio

Founder of Leading It Foward - a grassroots initiative of women, by women, for women teaching and sharing leadership techniques at all ages.
This entry was posted in Organic Gardening, Square Foot Gardening, Succession Planting. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

