Progress & Impatientness

March 13

You can ask anyone in my family, I’m like a kid waiting for Christmas when it comes to being patient, apparently I’m the same way when it comes to gardening. While I planted seeds 2 weeks ago, it’s killing me looking at my box of dirt. I need to see something GREEN in my garden – I HAVE to see something green right now!!!

At my local garden store, I purchased 4 broccoli plants, 8 romaine lettuce, 8 butter crunch lettuce and 8 spinach plants. These were small little transplants, but at least it feeds my need for seeing some sort of growth in the garden. I decided that this wouldn’t necessarily be a bad thing and have opted to also try sucession gardening as well this year.

I also, in the name of speedy vegetable gratification, planted a few squares that I have reserved for summer squash, in radish seeds. Radishes are known for 2-3 day germination rates and harvests in about 3 weeks! My kind of vegetable!! Plus, they’ll be great with the lettuce in home grown salads.

My daughters got involved in the initial planting process

Over the weekend, I also potted a few plants on my patio – strawberries, thyme, basil, rosemary and another varieity of leaf lettuce. I’m remembering that patio plants will require much more water than my garden plants so I’m hoping by pawing – uh hum – handing the responsibility of my 7 year old, she’ll be excited enough to keep water on them! She’s mildly excited about the larger garden, but without a lot of visual interest right now, she’s just not that into it quite yet…holding out hope.

I also, although I know it’s a wee bit early, planted a few cucumbers and summer squash. We’re experiencing unusually warm spring weather right now so I figured a few seeds were worth the test.

About Wendy M. DeIorio

Founder of Leading It Foward - a grassroots initiative of women, by women, for women teaching and sharing leadership techniques at all ages.
This entry was posted in Organic Gardening. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

