First lesson learned…

So our March here has been unusally warm and cozy; in fact just last week, we enjoyed a nice 90 something degree day. So a few weeks ago on a whim that the weather had been so pleasantly warm – even though it was not a typical March – I planted a few summer favs like green beans and a few summer squash. I was amazed at how quickly the beans responded to the warm weather and have since flourished in my garden. You can only imagine my surprise this weekend when I wake up to a fridged 40 degrees and then didn’t see much warmer (48 degrees) by the end of the day.

So a quick afternoon call to my knowledgable mother resulted in finding a few old sheets and blankets in hopes that I might salvage my pretty little beans. I wrapped my little beans as best that I could and have crossed my fingers. I have also checked the 10 day forcast for my area. For the rest of the week, I’m looking at at low’s of 38’s and highs in the low 60’s  – then back to balmy 70’s and 80’s for the weekend and beyond.

Beans covered in two layers of sheets to protect them from this weeks cold snap

To my pretty little green beans, I’ve learned my lesson and I promise, in the future, I will not allow myself to get giddy over the unseasonably warm weather and plant you before you’re really ready.

On a side note — my peas, carrots, lettuces, spinach and broccoli’s are LOVING the cool weather – in fact, I do believe I’ve seen more growth from them in the last few days than I have in the last three weeks since they were transplanted/seeded!!

You can see just little heads of the peas starting to come up

Broccoli, spinach, lettuce and radishes are loving the cold weather!

About Wendy M. DeIorio

Founder of Leading It Foward - a grassroots initiative of women, by women, for women teaching and sharing leadership techniques at all ages.
This entry was posted in Organic Gardening. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

