Harvest Day…early

Well, let this be my very first lesson – that like human babies, garden babies have a mind and time frame all on their own. Sunday I was thinking I would need to wait until later in the week to harvest my first radishes, and then BAM! went out before work to find I had an entire bowl full ready to be plucked from the ground.

I dusted a little dirt carefully away from their tops (for those that I could see the little red bulb and whose leaves had started to turn a bit purple) and grabbed the entire leaf stalk and gentle wiggled them from their cozy beds. I still have several that aren’t quite there yet, but at least for tonight – we’ll have some fresh garden salads. I’ll pick a little lettuce and spinach tonight before dinner to really round out our meal.

Our first radish harvest!! A great first time gardener ego boost!!!

One thing I noticed – there were a few that suffered from over crowding (thus the not so round feature). While I’ve been doing a diligent job of thinning, there were still a few that were simply missed. I’ve already made my documentation in my garden journal regarding planting my next batch so this can be avoided.

If I work quickly enough in the next few nights, I just might be able to get in one last planting of radishes. According to Oklahoma State Univeristy’s Co-Op Extension Service, April 15 should be the very latest that they’re planted…we’ll try for one last experiment and better spacing. I have an empty 2×2 space where I could plant them!! So excited to try one more round.

About Wendy M. DeIorio

Founder of Leading It Foward - a grassroots initiative of women, by women, for women teaching and sharing leadership techniques at all ages.
This entry was posted in Harvesting. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Harvest Day…early

  1. Jill says:

    YaY!!!! They look yummy!!! My daddy would wipe those babies off, put salt and pepper on…then pop them in his mouth!!!

  2. LettuceShare says:

    I was very careful with my carrots this year as not to overcrowd them, but I do love how adaptable root veggies are to their given space. You can put rocks underneath them, and they’ll just split in two and grow on either side!

    • Wendy says:

      After another harvest this evening of the radishes, I realized I hadn’t thinned them as well as I had originally thought. It sparked me to do a good run through thinning job of my carrots!!! While I didn’t mind oddly shaped radishes, I’d at least like to have it a goal to have normally shaped carrots. It’s all a learning experience this year!

Leave a Reply

