A planting weekend

One thing as I am getting into the world of gardening is that I find myself LOVING looking through heirloom garden seed sites. I have found one where I’ve ordered the bulk of my seed this year – rareseeds.com – I like them because all of my orders seem to show up nearly overnight! I know that’s partly due to the fact that they’re only a state away in Missouri but it does lend itself for me to order more because they’re relatively close. I’ve found several others that I’ve added to my ‘favorites’ list on my computer.

This week I ordered a couple of packets of okra seeds. I have searched high and low around town for okra seeds and come up empty-handed. I had found transplants, but those that I planted a few weeks ago just didn’t survive a few nights we had last week that dipped down into the mid/high thirties. I say that and I did spot two tiny stems remaining, but I’m not going to hold out hope.

I’ve checked the forecast for the weekend and while today is a blustery 100mph winds (not really but it certainly feels that way), tomorrow looks great with even a 50% chance of rain on Sunday!!! That means in a perfect world, I can get out tomorrow, get all my seeds planted and let mother nature give my garden a really, really good, FREE drink! (Crossing my fingers)

On my agenda, planting my cucumbers, watermelon, cantaloupe and some more squash. Now that my corn has sprouted and is 1-2″
 tall, I’ll go back in between the seedlings and plant my squash and cukes so that I can maximize my growing space and let the corn stalks serve as the trellis. I’ve never seen or personally tried this method but I am quite curious as to see how it works out! If you’ve tried it – I’d love to hear what you say about this ‘living’ trellis method. Last night as I was meandering through the yard, I also noticed I had some blank space near my dog pen that I may try using as a trellis next to my summer canas!

On my lunch break, I also purchased a couple of red wood trellis’ that I’ll add to my raised bed specifically for my peas. Those little guys are now a good 6-8″ tall so their climbing days are quickly approaching! I chose a trellis that had foot long stakes that would go deep into the ground. Out where I live the wind you get in town seems to be magnified by 100 out in the country. I certainly don’t want these to take flight like my recently purchased compost bin did a few weeks ago. Not sure where it ended up, but I’d like to think some field of cattle nearby will be putting it to great use!

Happy Gardening!!

About Wendy M. DeIorio

Founder of Leading It Foward - a grassroots initiative of women, by women, for women teaching and sharing leadership techniques at all ages.
This entry was posted in General Gardening, heirloom seeds, Organic Gardening and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

