Thorn in my side

As we were building our new house last fall, we knew that there were a few cactus on the property. One evening while still in the framing stage, my husband went out and sprayed them all with Round Up thinking that Round Up will kill anything, right? We were either wrong or these cactus are related somehow to me and are seriously hard-headed! They came back!!!

We finally got a few drops of rain this week and you would’ve thought we’d gone out and planted little baby cactus EVERYWHERE! We have two little girls that find themselves outside every chance they get, so we have to keep a wary, watchful eye on these thorny suckers. Last night, my husband, father-in-law and myself spent the better part of two hours spraying, chopping and pulling these things from both our property and the soon-to-be property of my in-laws. (their property is MUCH worse).

I had read on Google that simply chopping these things up would  not work as they would re-root if there were enough moisture in the little ‘pods’ for lack of a more scientific word. That must have been the case because I know two months ago I did some chopping down to the root but left them and now they’re BACK!

We had a very calm night last night and on the other property, the guys sprayed 2-D-40 in hopes that would work. Since our girls have a tendency to forget their shoes when they go outside, we took the approach of digging and discarding these things to the compost pile. I was amazed at how many we found as we were on cactus patrol around the house!!

I’ve done some more on-line research and read that Boric Acid would kill these things. Along with setting them on fire (which isn’t an option while your county is in a burn ban). Does anyone else have any other options to keep the ground around our house free from cactus?? I’m getting desperate. This morning I was still pulling out tiny, miniscule thorns from the tops of my fingers where they’d gone through my garden gloves. I may have to invest in a new pair of gloves now!!

I’m anxious to hear any suggestions!!

About Wendy M. DeIorio

Founder of Leading It Foward - a grassroots initiative of women, by women, for women teaching and sharing leadership techniques at all ages.
This entry was posted in General Gardening and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

